Hurricane Sandy victim discovers she was an Obama campaign prop

Remember this picture?

Image

This picture of a Hurricane Sandy victim went viral and helped Obama win re-election. Now, the pictured victim, Donna Vanzant, feels even more victimized: “After his visit, I sent an email to President Obama. Many days later, I got a response back. It was disturbing. It had nothing to do with what I was asking him. It was a form letter. It thanked me for supporting the troops. He made a promise to rebuild on national television, and I can’t even get this money. It’s heartbreaking, really. I did reach out to Senator Whelan, and I got a response that they were forwarding my email to the person that Governor Christie put in charge of Sandy relief. But from President Obama, I got a form letter. When you get a hug from the President of the United States, you feel like there’s something there. A promise was made. I have two grown kids. One is a U.S. Navy diver. The other one lives at the marina with his wife and new baby, and they lost everything. But I raised my kids to know that your word is your word. You promise something, you keep it, and that was a broken promise. I’ve never been a person to expect free handouts, but the President gave me hope. But now, I just don’t know.

Obama politicized and mishandled Hurricane Sandy– and now that the presidential campaign is over, he’s abandoned the victims.

One response

  1. […] the most extreme divisiveness and partisanship in America since the Civil War… abandoned Hurricane Sandy victims… dead American diplomats in Libya and dead American hostages in Algeria… and the list […]

Leave a Reply

